The Day After Mother’s Day


Yesterday it was Mother’s Day and I was thinking and wondering all day that what should I  write on this Mother’s Day to “show my respect and Love for my mom”. After all , I have one day per year to do that. (sarcasm intended) I saw all networking sites.. FB, whatsapp, twitter etc. were all flooded with mom’s messages. I kept on thinking and thinking and thinking. ..Should I change profile picture on facebook or write a post?? Change DP on whatsapp, or update status on whatsapp to “Happy Mother’s Day” ?? Damn!! what to do..huh ?

Being a married Indian girl, I am also supposed to have my MIL as my mother as well. (and I do, with all due respect). Even if I don’t call her daily 2-3 times she still has that special place in my heart. I surprised her with  a personalized gift, which I guess she will surely appreciate. And when am not satisfied merely by that, I personally called and wished her. I am happy and satisfied.

My mother did not use a smart phone. Neither is she ever interested in socializing on networking sites. Now, when she even don’t socialize a bit, yes even then, I would have expressed my love and respect for her on social networking sites, but I didn’t. (Oh!!  What a bad daughter am I .. ain’t I ??)

This Mother’s Day, she was in a Vipassana Camp yesterday so I can’t even had a word with her, for until 3 more days. That is OK with both of us. People have a hard time to believe, when I say I hardly talk with my mum once or twice in 10 days or so. Well unlike, present modern days where frequent talking in “mayka” is usual, (be it any genuine reason, no offense) I find myself lagging behind in this.

After the full day of thinking, finally I decided. I posted nothing on facebook; I didn’t changed DPs on FB or whatsapp ; done nothing at all on any of the networking sites. I just closed my eyes, smiled, saw her smiling face and whispered “Happy Mother’s Day Maa”. And Yes, she will definitely call me when she’ll be back. (Yeah, I apologize, I rarely make a call.)

While writing this stumbled upon this pic somewhere –
image

Will people really think that I don’t care about my mother, if I haven’t posted anything impressive?? Will the society really accept me??

Am sorry Maa for being such a heartless, non-loving and anti-social (pun intended) daughter.

Categories: Raw Writings | Tags: , , , , , | 10 Comments

Post navigation

10 thoughts on “The Day After Mother’s Day

  1. I like the honesty in your words even I had the same thoughts on mothers Day. There was a message on Whats app and I felt it to be so true. “Jitna pyar aaj facebook and whatsapp pe umad raha hai uska aadha bhi hakikat main ho toh vridha-ashram ki jarurat hi na pade”.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks Megha. Yes, there are many such messages. These are all just words unless there are feelings..aren’t they?? 🙂

      Like

  2. Facebook WhatsApp Twitter Pin inter

    Like

  3. Facebook, Twitter, WhatsApp kahin bhi kuch nahin likha, kisi ko bhi wish nahin kiya….mata rani ka shraap chadega. Bhale hi society maaf kar de par mata rani kabhi maaf nahin karengi.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. We often do special things for our dear ones on special occasions. But on normal days we treat them normally. Do we realize it – No. If you did this all 364 days then there is a very high possibility that the person will not appreciate you nor would be happy with you with your single day effort.
    My Article – Link : http://sknomanahmed.com/2016/05/08/happy-mothers-day/

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Filled to Empty

Filled by God. Poured into others.

Joe's Musings

"You become what you think" - Ralph Waldo Emerson. I think I am a writer, do you agree?

Iain Kelly

Fiction Writing

ifs buts ands etcs...

by Vinodini Iyer

Millys Guide

Life, happiness and mental health from the viewpoint of MIlly the Labrador and Lauren the human.

Forty, c'est Fantastique !

La vie est belle !

हिन्दी साहित्य

hindi sahitya by mithilesh wamankar " मिथिलेश वामनकर का वेब पत्र "__________ मध्यप्रदेश, उत्तरप्रदेश, छत्तीसगढ, बिहार, झारखण्ड तथा उत्तरांचल की पी.एस.सी परीक्षा तथा संघ लोक सेवा आयोग की परीक्षा के हिन्दी सहित्य के परीक्षार्थियो के लिये सहायक

radhikasreflection

Everyday musings ....Life as I see it.......my space, my reflections and thoughts !!

Elena Square Eyes

Thoughts of a twenty-something film fan, reader and geek

